Welcome

Welcome to Flaking Out: a pilot project on teaching radio drama.

Flaking Out ran from September 2012 – July 2013 and was run by Creative Director Jennifer Tuckett in collaboration with the University of Salford and BBC Drama North.

The project took undergraduate students at the University of Salford from learning about radio drama for the first time to writing short radio plays with the help of BBC Radio Drama North to a special Turn Up The Talent showcase for 6 of the students plays to recording 1 of the students plays, produced by BBC Radio Drama North producer Sharon Sephton and with Sound Design by BBC Radio Drama North sound designer Steve Brooke.

Please click on the other pages on our website to see what we did on the project.

“This has been my favourite module at University so far, it was great to get the opportunity, to see Media City and have talks with experienced people. I was sceptical at first as I had never done anything like this previously, however I found that it is something that I would definitely consider going into. It was great to get a decent mark for my 500 word radio play idea, as it gave me confidence to pursue a text that was unlike anything I had written. I found the lectures with the people involved with making radio plays very interesting; I recall thinking that it could be any one of us in this room up there teaching one day. The importance of each person we met was overwhelming and I felt privileged being a part of it. Their passion for entertaining was admirable and I would like to think that following this course I could think of new and imaginative ways of engaging audiences the way they have.”

Student participant in Flaking Out

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment